RSS

Osama Qashoo

19 Jan
Osama Qashoo

Osama Qashoo

I grew up in Palestine, within a story which is close, fierce and painful… I first took up a camera in reaction to the unbelievable scenes around me. I found a broken camera and discovered that when I pretended to film – at the check points, in demonstrations or during the many curfews – soldiers acted differently. My camera became like a physical reaction to what was happening around me. Gradually, I came to learn how to make short reports and documentary films whilst working within various media organizations, and so began my career as a filmmaker.

From 1998 to 2003 I worked full-time as a programme-maker and presenter for the Palestinian radio and television companies Q TV, Peace TV and Nablus TV. During 2001 I worked as a photographer for Reuters and as a translator for European journalists in Palestine.

I came to the UK, and the NFTS, in 2003. Throughout my time in the UK I have been commissioned to film various conferences, events, theatre productions and functions. I have worked as script advisor and assistant for the BBC and Channel 4. I have also provided advice in both script-writing and direction for fiction and non-fiction films, both feature-length and shorts.

Films at the NFTS include…

Inside Outside     
My Dear Olive Tree    
No Choice Basis    
Choking Life
Interruption

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
